TWILIGHT HATERS discussion

Twilight Lover's Topics > What are everyone's reasons for hating Bella?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 123 (123 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Rain (last edited Mar 13, 2010 08:09PM) (new)

Rain Jeys (rainjeys) Seriously. I'm a writer, and I get that Stephanie Myer isn't very good. I get that most guys think Edward is gay. I get that the fangirl things is out of control. I disagree with the whole feminist backlash against the obsessive romance (and I'm a feminist) but that's for a different topic. But what I really don't get is why everyone hates Bella.

She's needy, okay, that's true. But she's not a wimp. She's actually pretty brave when you consider what she's gone through. She is a bit self-absorbed, but certainly not STUCK-UP and at least she REALIZES when she's being selfish, and acknowledges it as a bad thing (like when she realizes she's using Jacob).

Honestly, she reminds me of me. Pale, clumsy, insecure bookworm. I like her. I just do. Is it such a bad thing to be depressed when someone you love deeply leaves you forever? Does it really make you pathetic? Cause I think it makes you kind of human, and yes, emotional. But why is that a bad thing?

I don't want to try to convince you all that Twilight is God's gift to mankind or anything, I'm just trying to understand the Bella hatred. Anyone want to help me? Also, I've just started book 2 so please, since I'm trying to be nice here, don't spoil the other two for me. :)

Thanks everyone!

Oh, also. I DO get that she is ordinary, and why people wonder why such a fuss is made over someone so boring. But I thought that was kind of the point. She's boring and ordinary so that girls reading the books can imprint themselves onto her. I mean, how many seventeen-year-olds have fully developed personalities and a sense of self purpose?

message 2: by Killer Queen (new)