Love Inspired Books discussion

The Story Behind The Captain's Lady by Louise Gouge

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Love Inspired (new)

Love Inspired Books (loveinspiredbooks) | 1035 comments Mod
This is my first time to blog for Love Inspired, and I’m amazed to be in such august company. These ladies write the most delightful books that carry the message of romance and God’s love to countless readers around the world. I pray that my books will be a blessing to all who choose them from among so many good books in our genre.

The Captain’s Lady is my second Love Inspired Historical set during the Revolutionary War. The first was Love Thine Enemy, which takes place in colonial East Florida. Although I have lived in Florida for thirty years, it wasn’t until about five years ago that I learned about East and West Florida being the fourteenth and fifteenth British colonies on the land that is now the United States of America. In fact, if George Washington had had his way, our country would have begun with fifteen colonies instead of thirteen. But such was not to be. Many Tories, Americans loyal to the Crown, escaped persecution by fleeing to East Florida, and their volunteer Rangers drove back the Patriots from Georgia and South Carolina who tried to bring the war to this southernmost colony.

You can see from the above paragraph how much I love history. Learning tidbits like that from the past always inspires stories in me, and this time was no exception. I wrote Love Thine Enemy as a love story between a man and a woman on opposite sides of the conflict. And, as frequently happens, one of my secondary characters politely asked if he could have his own story. Hence, The Captain’s Lady was created. But I moved the action to London, where my hero found his perfect heroine, Lady Marianne Moberly. Here’s the back cover copy: