Comfort Reads discussion

Chit Chat > Music

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Katri (new)

Katri (Valancy) | 68 comments I think we should have a music thread! Music is a great source of comfort and joy, after all.

So, what kind of music do you all love? Do any of you play an instrument, sing etc? Do you have comfort music like you have comfort books?

message 2: by Valerie (new)

Valerie I love lots of different types of music and artists...from rock/pop to jazz/blues and classical. It just depends on my mood. I play piano (in fact, I'm a piano teacher) so for comfort, I often turn to playing some of my favorite piano pieces. There's something about playing that is a huge stress reliever.

For LISTENING, I usually prefer things that I can sing along with. This is gonna show my age, but one of my favorite singer/songwriters is Billy Joel.

message 3: by Manybooks (new)

Manybooks I love the Beatles. I think they are my absolute favourite modern music band, but I also like a lot of the pop/rock music of the 50's, 60's and 80's (anything past that, I don't generally like, and I cannot stand rap, techno etc.).

However, for relaxation and comfort, I usually listen to New Age (instrumental), like Merlin's Magic, Dan Gibson or Llewellyn, instrumental jazz and classical music (too many favourites to name them all, but I love Chopin, Debussy, Vaughan Williams, Holst, Rimsky-Korsakov, Haydn and Beethoven). And, while I like listening to opera and singing, when I am reading, I do not like to listen to any type of vocal music, as I find that somewhat distracting (especially, if the vocals are in one language and I'm reading in another).

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

I like almost anything: classical, irish/celtic, folk, pop, country, rock. No rap or jazz. My daughter keeps finding new music to listen to, so I have been expanding into J-pop (Japanese pop music).

message 5: by Jo (new)