Action Heroine Fans discussion

Introductions and group business > Please introduce yourself

Comments Showing 1-50 of 456 (456 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

message 1: by Werner (new)

Werner | 1485 comments Wow, we've had a growth spurt recently! Welcome to everybody who's recently joined, as well as those who've been around for awhile. Some other groups I'm part of have a thread where people can introduce themselves (if they want to). So I thought I'd start one here, where you can tell us a little bit about yourself, and your interest in this type of heroine.

I'm a librarian in a Southern Baptist college in the mountains of Virginia, and married to a wonderful lady who was raised to hunt at an early age, and who could function very nicely as an action heroine if she needed to! We have three grown daughters; the oldest one is a green belt in karate (and I wouldn't advise anybody to pick on the younger two, either :-)). My interest in the kick-butt type of heroine goes back at least to my teens; I was a fan of both Charlie's Angels --especially of Kate Jackson's Sabrina-- and Diana Rigg as Emma Peel on The Avengers. (I confess that I had a crush on both of them; but what guy my age didn't? :-)) I haven't actually read that much of the literature, scattered across the various genres, that features heroines of this type, but I've read what I could; and I enjoy this group for the suggestions it provides for further reading. (Now if I could just get the to-read list I already have whittled down....)

message 2: by Ronda (new)

Ronda  Tutt (rondatutt) | 1 comments Hi Werner,

I love the role of strong females, they motivate and inspire me. When I was younger, I was one of those kick butt kind of gals (Tom Boy). Even when I was in the military I was always the leader and take control type of gal.

I loved Charlie's Angels. I think what hooked me was reading the book called Ravens of Avalon by Diana L. Paxson - the story of Boudica.