Janet Evanovich Book Group discussion

1089 views
Stephanie Plum Series > If you love the Plum Series you might like...

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Katy (new)

Katy | 3 comments I just read The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz. In general terms it's about a family of PIs and their adventures in spying on others and each other. It was very funny, my husband asked me what was so funny when he heard me giggling in the living room. There are 3 books published now and a fourth to be released in March.
I also recommend the Stephanie Bond Body Movers series.
I'll be starting the Shelly Fredman No Such Thing As series while on vacation next week, the fourth book was just released this week.
Does anyone else have any suggestions?


message 2: by Nicole (new)

Nicole (nlojeda) | 221 comments Mod
I love Sparkle Hayter's Robin Hudson series (they're a bit hard to find)http://www.amazon.com/Chelsea-Murders...

I also love the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (I moderate that group too).
I was also digging on Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson series but then I stopped reading them.

And on a more serious female mystery solver note, I read Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta series!


message 3: by Alice (last edited May 01, 2010 06:37PM) (new)

Alice (thegoodqueen) Nicole wrote: "I love Sparkle Hayter's Robin Hudson series (they're a bit hard to find)http://www.amazon.com/Chelsea-Murders...

I also love the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charl..."!


I find the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs very Plum like. It's kind of Stephanie in the paranormal world. So Mercy has joined Stephanie & Sookie on my book shelf.


message 4: by Leslie (new)

Leslie | 19 comments I just inhaled the newest Mercy book Silver Borne (Mercedes Thompson, #5). I finished it in a few hours. I heart Mercy Thompson!!!


message 5: by Jen (new)

Jen (hnrybrr1) | 2 comments The Kate Holly series, by Charlotte Hughes. It is similar to the Plum series. It is obvious that Evanovich and Hughes have spent a lot of time working together over the years. They have a lot of the same stylings and storylines.

I've read all 3 books that are out so far. Like JE, she seems to put out one a year.

Her older mystery/thriller books are really good as well.


message 6: by Karen (new)

Karen (karenruchal) | 1 comments I love the Tattoo Shop Mysteries by Karen E. Olson. Brett is very much a Stephanie type character. I am going to start her other series (the Annie Seymore series) soon.


message 7: by Jess (new)

Jess | 69 comments Karen wrote: "I love the Tattoo Shop Mysteries by Karen E. Olson. Brett is very much a Stephanie type character. I am going to start her other series (the Annie Seymore series) soon."

Oh I've never heard of that series, I will have to check it out! Thanks :)


message 8: by Leslie (new)

Leslie | 19 comments Jess wrote: "Karen wrote: "I love the Tattoo Shop Mysteries by Karen E. Olson. Brett is very much a Stephanie type character. I am going to start her other series (the Annie Seymore series) soon."

Oh I've ne..."



Me too! Need to check this new series out.


message 9: by Kelly (new)

Kelly I am going to have to check out the Tattoo Shop Mysteries. I love Stephanie Plum and if there is something else out there like her, I am all for it. Thanks for putting this out here Karen.


message 10: by Sassychassy (new)

Sassychassy | 6 comments I just finishes Gemma Halliday's High Heel Mystery Series. The first one is called Spying in High Heels. I got it off the discounted ebook store at Barnes and Noble not expecting much from it. I absolutely LOVED it. Its the closest I have found to Janet (though still not as good) in a mystery that has wacky mishaps and zany side characters. Very fun read, I would definitely recommend :0)


message 11: by Curlyhair (new)

Curlyhair | 12 comments I read about a series on another book club and now can't remember exactly what they are, can anyone help? The titles are all about cooking - like the ginger bread cookies mystery. They are american but I forgot to write the author's name down.


message 12: by Melissa ** (new)

Melissa ** | 11 comments Curlyhair wrote: "I read about a series on another book club and now can't remember exactly what they are, can anyone help? The titles are all about cooking - like the ginger bread cookies mystery. They are americ..."

Is this one of the books? Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, #1) by Joanne Fluke


message 13: by Curlyhair (new)

Curlyhair | 12 comments Hi Melissa, yes thats one of them. Thanks, I will look them up now.
Amanda


message 14: by Melissa ** (new)

Melissa ** | 11 comments No problem!! They are some of my to be read books.


message 15: by Magpie67 (new)

Magpie67 | 78 comments I love the Sparkle Hayter's series!! Also, Nancy Martin's Blackbird sisters are a hoot!!!!!


message 16: by Kerry (new)

Kerry | 1 comments Carolyn Haines Sarah Booth Delainey series is fun! There are 10 books in the series so they last for a while too!


message 17: by Magpie67 (last edited Apr 20, 2011 07:48AM) (new)

Magpie67 | 78 comments also, Toni McGee Causey

The first two are hilarious and I'm sad she had to change directions with the titles but I will read the third one when I get a chance.

Bobbie Faye's Very (very, very, very) Bad Day (Bobbie Faye, #1) by Toni McGee Causey

Bobbie Faye's (kinda, sorta, not exactly) Family Jewels (Bobbie Faye, #2) by Toni McGee Causey

It's like reading Stephanie Plum on crack in the South Bayou country. Fun Stuff!

Also, another good series is by Donna Andrew -- All her titles have birds in them and it is similar to Stephanie and an American version of Agatha Christie mystery style. Unique!

Donna Andrews


message 18: by Ginger (new)

Ginger Magpie67 wrote: "also, Toni McGee Causey

The first two are hilarious and I'm sad she had to change directions with the titles but I will read the third one when I get a chance.

[bookcover:Bobbie F..."


These sound great! Thanks!!


message 19: by Karen B. (new)

Karen B. (raggedy11) | 6 comments There is one called the gingerbread cookie murders that is actually a collection of three stories by three different authors. This where I really "met" Laura Levine for the first time and found myself laughing out loud the way I do with the J. Evanovich books. It's one little thing but I love it ... Jayne Austen is the main character and has a cat she calls Prozac. Her mother insists on calling it Zoloft, Lexapro and even Prilosec. I ended up getting and reding as man Laura Levine mysteries as I could. Joann Fluke was one of the other authors and I just can't remember the third, but someone well known. Maybe Leslie Meyer.


message 20: by Magpie67 (new)

Magpie67 | 78 comments I'm starting to collect Leslie Meyer series... I have found that all the cozies types are fun to read, light and funny between my dark mysteries.

here are some other cozy authors:

Avery Aames
Kate Carlisle
Hannah Dennison
Riley Adams
Kate Collins
Lorna Barrett
Lisa Bork
Diana Orgain


message 21: by Cindy (new)

Cindy | 3 comments The Esposito mysteries written by J.M. Griffin are fun although almost too much like the Stephanie Plum books..
https://www.goodreads.com/series/5931...


message 22: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Godwin (shannon_godwin) | 2 comments I really agree about the Stephanie Bond books, they were really good. I will be checking out the Spellman files, they sound interesting. I love good laughs in a book.


message 23: by Bridget (new)

Bridget | 1 comments Any new recommendations?? I've only got 2 books left before I've finished the plum series. I'm afraid I may go into withdrawals if I don't have something to take its place.


message 24: by Dallass (new)

Dallass (tundrablue) | 3 comments Try the Sarah Strohmeyer's series about a hairdresser turned accidental PI called Bubbles Yablonsky. First book in the series is Bubbles Unbound and I found this a great substitute for my Stephanie Plum fix ;-D


back to top