Challenge: 50 Books discussion

Self-Studies

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

I just wrote about self-studies, here:

http://readingwithsea.wordpress.com/2...

Does anyone else do self-studies?

-Sea

message 2: by astrangerhere (new)

astrangerhere Last year I wanted to plow through all of Agatha Christie, which was a childhood passion of mine. I succeeded barely, and learned alot about Christie, her times and her style from the effort. I'm an attorney by trade, and I find reading older detective fiction actually hones modern logic and gives one creative ways to form jury arguments.

This year, I am taking a totally different path and reading all of Haruki Murakami. I'm 2 years into the self-study of the Japanese language, and I thought that the literature of the country would be a great perspective for me. Of course, Murakami is supposed to be very "Western" in style, but I read his non-fiction novel Underground last year and was hooked on his style and prose.

As an aside, I am also reading all of the original Sherlock Holmes, for pure fun. Great question and discussion topic though :)

Ast

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

astrangerhere wrote: "Last year I wanted to plow through all of Agatha Christie, which was a childhood passion of mine. I succeeded barely, and learned alot about Christie, her times and her style from the effort. I'm ..."

I would so love to hook you up with my friend and fellow Member (of Reading With Sea) Robin. He loves, loves, loves Haruki Murakami and is currently reading all of his books, too.

Your studies sound so fun. I have the original collection of Sherlock Holmes sitting on my shelf, but it hasn't quite made it to my read next pile.

-Sea

message 4: by Donna (last edited Feb 26, 2010 10:35AM) (new)