Islam discussion

I have a few questions

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John Dreamer | 6 comments First of all my name is John and I just want to say that I am no here to argue with you about your beliefs. That said, I am very curious about why you believe in Islam? What lead to your belief? What convinced that Islam is true? Thank you for any answers

message 2: by Femmy (last edited May 10, 2010 07:02AM) (new)

Femmy | 120 comments Hi John, I was born in a Muslim family and live in a country where the majority of the population are Muslim (Indonesia), so I guess that's what first led me to Islam.

When I went to the US as an exchange student, I lived with a devout Baptist family for almost a year. I went to church with them three times a week. During that time, I didn't question my faith per se, but I did ask to myself about the people in my church, How can people this good be wrong? So I did some reading about Islam and Christianity. I don't think my reading was deep or anything, I was only a high school student at the time, but in the end I (re)chose Islam as my belief.

Some points about the two religions that I considered were:

* I just can't bring myself to believe in the Trinity. The absolute Oneness of God taught in Islam makes more sense to me. That a "god" can die on the cross also didn't sit well with me.

* I didn't like the concept of original sin. I can't wrap my brain around the assertion that babies are born sinful. The Islamic concept of fitrah, in which babies are born pure, makes more sense to me.