WSU YA Lit discussion

Students & Cliffnotes

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Frieda (new)

Frieda (friedalou) | 2 comments Now, I know when I was a student that practically everyone used Cliffnotes, Sparknotes, or some other type of guide to prevent them from actually having to do any work for a particular book.

How as teachers, do we work with this? Is there a way we can incorporate those kinds of guides and use them to our advantage in the classroom? Just wanted to get a discussion going and see where it goes!

message 2: by Rae (new)

Rae | 2 comments Mod
In the past I have actually encouraged students to use these guides as a supplemental feature. I still do quizzing that would only cover topics that would have to be understood in depth (sparknotes and cliffnotes only cover the bare bones basics.)

I know I have used these websites (or books) to further my understanding on a topic.

message 3: by Frieda (new)

Frieda (friedalou) | 2 comments I know that even here in college I've looked up online guides to help me with a novel I don't understand. I know that most teachers frown upon such matters but the truth is our students will more than likely use them. I just want to find a way to utilize them in my classroom to my advantage.

message 4: by Kelley (new)

Kelley (kelleyr) I think a good strategy might be to have students read the sparknotes first, then read the actual book/play/etc. in class. Then maybe they could do a project on essential parts of the plot or character development that sparknotes missed out on. And to go a step further, the teacher could also have them mail in suggestions to the sparknotes site. I think it would get them interested and involved.

message 5: by Sally (new)