Sacramento readers discussion

Books that take place in Sacramento?

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Camille H (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:01PM) (new)

Camille H (couillons) | 5 comments Mod
If you know of any, please add them to the group. I added the only ones that I knew of, including some books by authors from Sac.

message 2: by Mimi (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:23PM) (new)

Mimi McCartney | 1 comments I'm a newbie and can't figure out where to find your recommendations. The thread contains your topic, the post and last activity. I can't find your Sac recommendations! Did you list any?

There's Karen Kijewski who has a local P.I., Kat Colorado, much the same as the Sue Grafton books. I'd put her a step above SG.

There's also Steve Martini. I looked him up before this post and find that his latest books take place in San Diego; oh well, if I had a few best sellers, I'd probably move there too.

message 3: by Jason (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:25PM) (new)

Jason | 2 comments I know of two recent books with scenes in Sacramento: Shawna Yang Ryan's Locke 1928 and John Lescroart's The Suspect.

message 4: by Mary (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:25PM) (new)

Mary | 2 comments Off the top of my head, Richard Rodriguez's "The Hunger of Memory" and Ernesto Galarza's (sp?) "Barrio Boy." Also parts of William Vollman's "The Royal Family." Otherwise I'd say writers whose work includes some settings in Sacramento: R. Crumb (okay, actually more Yolo County) Raymond Carver, Adrian Tomine, & Joan Didion.

message 5: by Camille H (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:25PM) (new)

I have added all these books to the "Sacramento readers" bookshelf on our group page.

message 6: by Susan (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:26PM) (new)

Susan | 2 comments The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler taks place in Davis and Sacramento. And it's soon to be a movie.

message 7: by Meg (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:30PM) (new)