Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > I've got some time to beta read...

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chris (new)

Chris Harrison (chrisharrison_2013) | 8 comments I'll have time soon to beta read for full length fiction. I'm not a professional editor or anything like that so I'd be reading as a reader: ie story interest, compelling characters, plot holes etc.

In order to provide a decent critique of what you've written I'd prefer to read something that I would only read 'in real life.' So, with that in mind I WON'T be able to read the following:

romance/erotica
historical sagas
epic fantasy (Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones type fantasy)
Young Adult
childrens
gory horror (Saw, Hostel type stuff)

(To avoid confusion: NONE of the above.)

This is a first come first served arrangement, but let me know what your timeframe is and what you want in terms of feedback and we can take it from there.

To give an indication of what I do read 'in real life,' I've read and enjoyed Martin Amis, Milan Kundera, Peter Ackroyd, Umberto Eco, Stieg Larsson's Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy and the Da Vinci Code.

Chris

message 2: by Patrick (new)

Patrick Hill | 3 comments Chris,I would like someone to read & comment on my draft of sailing from the Great Lakes to New York, down to Miami and into the Bahamas. It was a 14 month trip with my wife. 200 pages 10 Chapters. I have written and had published a 15,000mile, 14 month trip with my wife and 2 children to the exotic atolls and south sea islands and home via Alaska - see www.patrickhillcruising.com
Thanks, Patrick

message 3: by Chris (new)

Chris Harrison (chrisharrison_2013) | 8 comments Patrick wrote: "Chris,I would like someone to read & comment on my draft of sailing from the Great Lakes to New York, down to Miami and into the Bahamas. It was a 14 month trip with my wife. 200 pages 10 Chapters...."