The Creative Writer's Toolbelt discussion

Ask Questions & Your stuff > "Putting it all together"

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Andrew (new)

Andrew Chamberlain (andychamberlain) | 272 comments Mod
Hi Andrew.

I am an aspiring writer. I feel like I understand the elements of story quite well; the importance of writing believable characters with integrity, conflict in a story, and many other elements that are considered integral to story.

I seem to fall flat when it comes time to put all of it together. I know I sit somewhere in between a 'planner' and a 'pantser', but I feel as though I have never found the right pre writing structure that works for me. I have the ideas in my head, I can get general ideas down on paper, then I hit a brick wall.

Have you experienced anything like this in your career? Any input, advice, commentary, etc would be welcome. Regardless, thank you for the podcast, and keep up the good work!

B

=========================
Hi

Thanks for your email.

There are four steps I recommend you go through, I've described them here in order, and I recommend you follow them in this order, but you might find some more useful than others.

First, I recommend you try the 3 synopses exercise, which is a headache inducing but often produces excellent results. In this exercise you have to do the following:

- Write a 15 word synopsis of your story
- Write a 50 word synopsis of your story
- Write 300 words / 3 paragraphs synopsis of your story.

For added headbangingness (no that's not a word, but you know what I mean) when you do your 15 word synopsis, ask yourself the question "What is my story really about". This is the creative writing equivalent of a multiheaded monster disguised as a cuddly rabbit. When you come up with your first answer to this question you have to then ask the same question again, and again, and you keep asking it until you really know what the story is about.