Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Book Pricing

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Pavan (new)

Pavan Kaur (pavankaur) | 89 comments Hello everyone, I was hoping to get some advice from you all.
I am a first time author and have just put up my book on Saturday 2nd May.
I put it up for 1.99
My plan was to leave it at that price for a week the do a weekend offer of 99p/c then put it back to 1.99.

I wanted to know if I was going the right way with this or am I going the wrong way?

I would love any advice that you all have for me.
Thank you xx

message 2: by Riley, Viking Extraordinaire (new)

Riley Amos Westbrook (sonshinegreene) | 1510 comments Mod
I just decide a price and list it, though there are many lessons out there that advocate setting the price high, cutting the price low or even free, and then setting the price at a reasonable rate.

message 3: by Pavan (new)

Pavan Kaur (pavankaur) | 89 comments Riley wrote: "I just decide a price and list it, though there are many lessons out there that advocate setting the price high, cutting the price low or even free, and then setting the price at a reasonable rate."

So I'm going the right way

message 4: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Siegrist (amandasiegrist) | 190 comments I'm new too, and I set mine right out of the bag at .99. I figured not many people (since they don't know me) wouldn't pay much more than that. Just my thoughts on it. I haven't made too many sales, but I'm still building my networking up as well. Plus, I didn't really expect much being that it's my first book and all. I even contemplated free and I may do that down the road just to try getting it out there in another way. 1.99 for a price isn't bad and it can't hurt to try. That's all I've been doing is trying. Trial and error. If it doesn't work, try something else and find that right kind of tool that will work for you. Best of luck:)