Fringe Fiction Unlimited discussion

Are you a 'real' writer?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 88 (88 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by K.P. (new)

K.P. Merriweather (kp_merriweather) | 517 comments i judge by the dollars. apparently im still a poor starving artist but compared to everyone else in the hood i "made it" because those knuckleheads never thought of publishing their books.

message 2: by Angel (last edited May 02, 2015 11:39AM) (new)

Angel | 28 comments I judge by the process and how thorough I am before I have the next book published. I see myself as a real author who has gone through the process (25 years) of becoming a real writer to get to this point to call myself a real published author.

message 3: by Lily (new)

Lily Vagabond (lilyauthor) As opposed to what? An illusionary writer that only exists in your mind? lol

I would be wary of articles like the one B posted, no offense and thanks for sharing.

Here's the deal. Anyone can write. Any 6 year old can bang out enough words on a keyboard and be a writer by default. It means abolutely nothing.

Writing is a tool like any other. I could bang away with a hammer, but that wouldn't automatically make me a carpenter. A "real" carpenter would know how to use the tools of the trade to craft beautiful furniture.

There is no measurement, in my honest opinion. Frankly, if I imposed measurements, I would never finish anything. The only line a draw is finishing the story. The whole story, from beginning to end, fully realized and made "real." It's not about me. It's about the story.

message 4: by Lynne (new)

Lynne Stringer | 175 comments I agree with Lily. I think having the ability to finish a story is probably a good benchmark. So many people start, but to give a story a good arc with beginning, middle and end? That's certainly, at the very least, the beginnings of a 'real' writer.

message 5: by Katheryn (new)