Stephen King Fans discussion

Recommendations > New SK reader here !! :D

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kranthi (new)

Kranthi Kumar | 1 comments Hello all I am kranthi from India :) I am new to Stephen king novels.. and I have few doubts :

1) I bought few books from the local store : The Shining,Bag Of Bones, The cell, Buick 8. Can anyone please say what to read 1st? The Order i should go..

2) The Language (English) is it easily understood?

3) Should i buy dark tower series soon after i complete the above list? or go to other books? If Yes, what other good books u would recoomend for the 1st time SK readers?

Thanks in advance :)

message 2: by José (last edited May 02, 2015 08:49AM) (new)

José (lectorconstante19) Hi Kranthi! Bag of Bones was my first King book so I love it, but of the list you made I would suggest that you read The Shining first it's an awesome book.

Secondly I would read Cell or bag of bones (although I didn't like cell many people does so it's your choice, if you prefer apocalyptic stories go on with Cell). Buick 8 definitely last because it's an average book that can be rather dull for new readers.

About the language I can't say because I've read most books in Spanish, the few that I read in English weren't hard to understand.

And finally about the Dark Tower I think that you should read some of his other works in order to fully appreciate it, specially Salem's Lot, The Stand and the Eyes of the dragon.

Hope you enjoy reading those books they are awesome!

message 3: by Paul (new)

Paul | 17 comments Hi Kranthi,

I agree that you should probably start with the shining. That is a classic King novel that shows you how scary his books can be. Bag of Bones on the other hand is a beautifully written book that shows how much range and talent he has as a writer. I also agree I would wait a little while before picking up the Dark Tower. Enjoy!

message 4: by Nick (new)