Crime, Mysteries & Thrillers discussion

The Art Forger
This topic is about The Art Forger
Archive - Group Reads > Art Forger, The - May 2015

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chava (new)

Chava | 2788 comments Hi all,

This is the thread to discuss The art forger. The discussion leader is Priya. Thank you Priya

Leslie (lesmorecats) | 72 comments I read this for another book club two years ago.
By now I don't remember a thing other than that she started out pure and got sucked in.

message 3: by Priya (last edited May 11, 2015 02:10PM) (new) - added it

Priya | 10 comments Hey All,

I am Priya and this is my first time leading a discussion here.
Chava did mention that this book has already been read. I guess there will be a few like me who missed it. Been wanting to read this for a long time.

Anybody reading this book? I just got my copy from the library.More posts on the go.

Happy reading!
Priya

Karen (karen94066) | 262 comments Hi Priya,
I led the group last time.
I learned a lot about how to forge artworks and how to analyze great works of art.
I felt it was a very interesting look at what lengths someone might go to be successful.

s
p
o
i
l
e
r

it was particularly interesting to find she could have been a star with just her own art
unfortunately she had to deal with the art gallery to get noticed.
whether she really had to sleep with the gallery owner is another matter

e
n
d

s
p
o
i
l
e
r

Hope you get some spirited discussion.
This was a great book.

message 5: by Priya (new) - added it

Priya | 10 comments Hey Karen,

I am half way into the book. The plot is interesting. I am not into art but this made me search on the paintings and learn its history. And once you learn about the process and the level of work that goes into, it makes you appreciate art more. Ha ha I am going to (try to) forget what I read as the spoiler.

cheers