The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > I'm Back!

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Denise (new)

Denise Baer Hello All,

I'm trying to get back into my Goodreads discussions. Expat living in Germany. Sprechen Sie Deutsche? Because I'm not very good at German. It's a tough language.

Anyways, I'm looking forward to reconnecting with people. Have a great day!

message 2: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

Nancy Oakes (quinnsmom) | 8727 comments Mod
Great to have you back!
It IS a tough language, not one of my favorites -- heck, Chinese is easier than German for me!

message 3: by Denise (new)

Denise Baer Thank you so much, Nancy! Now I don't feel so bad that I'm struggling with German.

message 4: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

You're welcome. I still struggle with it -- reading is one thing, speaking is a whole different ball game. Hang in there.

message 5: by Skye (new)

Skye | 2105 comments Hello there, Denise.

message 6: by Bill (new)

Bill | 5464 comments I lived in Germany for about six years at different times. I could get by, but it sure wasn't easy. Welcome to the group!

message 7: by Denise (last edited Apr 29, 2015 12:51PM) (new)

Denise Baer @Nancy, I have difficulties understanding. I can't translate that quickly. My husband tells me that once I turn off my self-translation, and know the words in German, then it will come easier. I think some people are better at languages than others.

@Skye, Thanks much.

@Bill, I'm sure you could get by better than I can. I've been living here for 2 years and 8 months. I'm very good at pronouncing Danke Schoen and Nein. :D

message 8: by Gisela (new)

Gisela Hafezparast | 367 comments Denise wrote: "Hello All,

I'm trying to get back into my Goodreads discussions. Expat living in Germany. Sprechen Sie Deutsche? Because I'm not very good at German. It's a tough language.

Anyways, I'm looking ..."

Hello Nanacy,