Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > The Business Side

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by J.D. (new)

J.D. Dudycha | 39 comments As a first time author with my book coming out in June,I am searching for some advice from people who have experience with the business side of authorship.

1. Do I need to apply for an LLC in my name?
2. Do I need to apply for a sales tax license to sell paper copies in my state?
3. How do you go about selling your paper copies in your state?

If you have other advice about the business side, please let me know, thanks.

JD

message 2: by J.N. (new)

J.N. Bedout (jndebedout) | 115 comments First and foremost, let me stipulate that I am not a lawyer, and anything I state below should not be considered legal advice.

1. LLC. If you intend to pursue writing as a long-term venture, it makes sense to create an LLC so you can keep your royalties separate from your regular income. If an audit arises because of the royalties, then only the LLC will be audited and not all of "you". A single-member LLC is an easy way to start; you can upgrade it to a full-fledged LLC at a later date if things go well.

2. You only need a sales tax license/sales permit IF you intend to sell copies on your own (ie, via your personal blog, etc). If you only intend to sell copies via Amazon or Smashwords, then THEY will collect sales tax, and so you therefore do not need the permit. Best to check your county office to be sure of any guidelines or variances that apply to you.

3. I cannot comment on #3. I only sell via Amazon and other online venues. That means less paperwork and less hassle for me. And less cost. But for me writing is a "hobby" at this juncture. So I'm willing to forego the pleasures of direct sales (or lack thereof).

message 3: by Owen (new)