Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Talk about deadlines.

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Iffix (new)

Iffix Santaph | 324 comments (Silly name for a thread, so feel free to rename it, you wonderful mods.)

Here's the situation.
I have seen book deadlines crop up in the book advertisement at the end, particularly when a book is part of a series.
I set myself up a deadline for July for the next book in my series, and I realized the book will actually be ready by the end of this month. (It was undergoing final edits when I determined the deadline, and I wasn't sure how long that would take.) Others, I am told, have posted deadlines only to release the book later than intended. Is there a better way to let the audience know a follow-up is coming without specifying a date. (Coming soon... seems a little tacky to me, but then, I'm new at this.) Suggestions?

message 2: by Owen (new)

Owen O'Neill (owen_r_oneill) | 1509 comments Is the book part of a series? Just to be clear, did you publicly announce July as the expected publication date?

message 3: by Christina (new)

Christina McMullen (cmcmullen) There's nothing tacky about coming soon, but your best bet is to be vague while not looking vague. My series has a silly teaser at the end of each book with the name of the next book. The last one published in March and the teaser says the next book is coming in summer 2015. This gives me a window of June to September to get the next one out. If I get it done early (doubtful), I'd simply put the book out and go back as I aleays do to change the teaser to 'available now.'

If you don't want to bring the book out bwfore your intended release, consider a preorder to generate buzz.

message 4: by Ken (new)