UK Book Club discussion

Genre Challenge 2015-17 > Travel & Exploration - May 2015

Comments Showing 1-50 of 72 (72 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Liz, Moderator (new)

Liz | 3409 comments Mod
According to the random list generator, May's genre is: travel and/or exploration.

Hmm, what to choose? I may go for Coronation Everest by Jan Morris as that will also get me Nepal for the around the world challenge....

Coronation Everest by Jan Morris

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Quick question - this is my first time doing the genre challenge, does Travel & Exploration have to be a non-fiction travel guide or can it be a fiction book where the characters travel somewhere or a fiction book set somewhere exotic? Or is it up to us to decide how we interpret it - how strict are you about the genres? :)

message 3: by Laura (new)

Laura I think for this one I'll tick off the next book in my round the world challenge (Vanuatu). So I'll be reading Man Belong Mrs Queen: Adventures with the Philip Worshippers which is about a guy trying to find out more about a Vanuatu cult which worships Prince Philip.

The next three books I'm thinking of reading for the world challenge could all go in this genre. The other two are Beyond The Oxus: The Central Asians(Tajikistan) and The Snow Leopard(Nepal).

message 4: by Liz, Moderator (new)

Liz | 3409 comments Mod
Caroline wrote: "Quick question - this is my first time doing the genre challenge, does Travel & Exploration have to be a non-fiction travel guide or can it be a fiction book where the characters travel somewhere o..."

While non-fiction is the obvious interpretation, fiction is certainly allowed. As long as the characters are travelling or explorers!

I often bend and stretch genres for the challenge, so please go ahead as you will ;)

message 5: by Liz, Moderator (new)

Liz | 3409 comments Mod