Catholic Thought discussion

Gathering Space > How did you come to Catholicism?

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Doreen (new)

Doreen Petersen | 441 comments I started this folder so we could all have a place to chat about general information. All those participating need to keep in mind the group rules. Anything that does not conform to the rules will be removed.
That being said I think this is a good idea for us and will help us grow as a group. I'm also asking members to see if they have friends or relatives who may be interested in joining our group. Thank you all and God Bless.

message 2: by Doreen (new)

Doreen Petersen | 441 comments I will start off this topic by telling all a bit about myself. I was born into a Polish-Catholic family, and attended Catholic schools until I graduated from high school. I am what some may call a cradle Catholic but as I grew older and was exposed to other faiths I realized deep in my heart and soul that Catholicism was the answer. Even when I went away to college in Saskatchewan in western Canada where it's beyond bitterly cold in the winter I always walked to the Catholic Chapel on campus to observe Catholic beliefs and attend Mass. Was the best thing I ever did. I would love to hear how others came to Catholicism.

message 3: by Mike (new)

Mike I am a cradle Catholic; both grammar school and high school were Catholic. I also attended a Benedictine Catholic college and had my first encounter with the Benedictines, this was a truly wonderful experience. As life raced by near the end of my career I was able to begin attending weekend retreats at this latest Benedictine Abbey. This gave me an opportunity to get to know another Benedictine community.