Crime, Mysteries & Thrillers discussion

Mystic River
This topic is about Mystic River
Archive - Group Reads > Mystic River - February 2015

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chava (new)

Chava | 2788 comments This is the thread for your discussion about Mystic River. Your moderator will be Helen. Thank you Helen.

message 2: by Helen (last edited Jan 30, 2015 01:56PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Helen (helenliang) Welcome to all of you who will be reading this novel in February and thank-you for voting for it! As the person who suggested the book, I get to lead the group. Please forgive me if I don't do this perfectly as I am totally new to this type of thing.

The Goodreads site gives Mystic River an excellent average rating (4.18) and calls it a "tense and unnerving psychological thriller". It has won numerous awards: Barry Award for Best Novel(2002), Macavity Award Nominee for Best Mystery Novel(2002), Anthony Award for Best Novel(2002), Hammett Prize Nominee (2001), Dilys Award (2002), Massachusetts Book Award for Fiction (2002), and the Prix des libraires du Québec for Lauréats hors Québec (2003).

I have not read any of Dennis Lehane's novels. I notice that he has been very prolific and gets amazingly good reviews. If I like Mystic River, then I am looking forward to having lots more reading material to choose from.

One Goodread member asked if it has been made into a film. The movie, Mystic River (directed by Clint Eastwood and released in 2003), is based on this novel. I noticed that Roger Ebert gave the movie a 4/4 rating. I have not seen it; I like to read the book before I see the movie.

I am looking forward to sharing our thoughts on this book throughout the month of February.

All the best,

Helen

message 3: by Paulette (new) - added it