Sci-Fi & Fantasy Girlz discussion

Discussions & Debates > The fifth Doctor, Peter Davison, says Time Lord should never be played by a woman

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gary (last edited Jan 28, 2015 02:58PM) (new)

Gary | 1472 comments His reasoning is a strangely obversed pro-female character stance:
"I have trouble with the idea of a female Doctor, only because I reckon if you're born on Gallifrey a man, you're probably a male Time Lord."

Davison said the key to the success of the modern Doctor Who series was the dynamic between a troubled Doctor and strong female companion.

"It seems to me if you reverse that, if you have an uncertain, fallible female Doctor with a really strong male companion, you've got more of a stereotype than anything else."
Confession: I'm not a big Doctor Who fan. I watched a bunch when I was a kid with Tom Baker back in the day, and I've watched a few episodes here and there with other actors, but I've never been "into" them after that initial introduction. The pacing of the recent versions just seems off to me. (I have a similar problem with a few British TV shows.)

So, I don't know that the issue that Mr. Davison raises is true of more than just the Doctor that he played. I don't think it would have been an issue for Tom Baker's version, despite his actual gender....

Even if it is the case for more recent incarnations of the Doctor, it seems like a relatively easy thing to shift.

Edit: Sorry, here's the full article: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-01-28...

message 2: by Bryn (last edited Jan 28, 2015 02:36PM) (new)