Goodreads Ireland discussion

Introductions > Carol McKee Jones

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi, I'm an author from Belfast, currently living on the south coast of England (on a boat). My favourite authors are Sebastian Barry, Colm Toibin, Rose Tremain. I particularly enjoy mysteries. My writing is either based in Ireland or reflects by Belfast upbringing. I won the Rethink Prize Novel Award with a book I'll introduce in Promotions.

message 2: by Donna (last edited Jan 22, 2015 12:37PM) (new)

Donna McCaul Thibodeau (celtic_donna) | 1141 comments Hi Carol and welcome. I was born in Belfast but lived in Derry until we moved across the pond. How cool to live on a boat! What do you do with your books - I'm assuming you don't have much storage space?

message 3: by [deleted user] (last edited Jan 22, 2015 01:41PM) (new)

Hello, Carol. Toíbín and Barry are favourite authors of mine too. I am also a graduate of Sussex. Nice to meet you.

message 4: by Elanna (new)

Elanna | 31 comments Hello!
I'm curious about the book storage as well. Fancying a second boat full of books and a rope to secure it :D

message 5: by [deleted user] (last edited Jan 23, 2015 05:59AM) (new)

Hi Donna, Theresa, Elanna,
Theresa - I'm also a graduate of Sussex - 1993 - so long ago. Are you still in the area?
Re. my books: The boat is quite big - 46 foot cruiser, with space in the master cabin for around 40 books (built-in bookshelf). I've stored some in a garage - hopefully they won't be damp. Cupboards on the boat are filled with books...
Believe it or not, there is a second boat (fishing boat).
Nice to meet all of you & thanks for the comments

message 6: by [deleted user] (new)

Carol wrote: "Hi Donna, Theresa, Elanna,
Theresa - I'm also a graduate of Sussex - 1993 - so long ago. Are you still in the area?
Re. my books: The boat is quite big - 46 foot cruiser, with space in the master c..."