Beta Reader Group discussion

PAID services requested > Seeking Critique Partner/ Beta Reader for 117K Non-Fiction Book

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jason (new)

Jason Alders | 2 comments Hi
I have a non-fiction manuscript which I'd describe as a teaching/memoir. Think books like Bird by Bird, On Writing, Artists Way, Big Magic.

I am a visual professional fine artist and have written a book following milestones of my art career journey which also addresses and speaks to creatives of all types and ventures outside of my own life. In that way, it has memoir aspects, but it's not specifically that.

The purpose of my book is to offer strategies, mindsets and lessons of the artist's journey. I talk about the business of art, spiritual aspects of inspiration, the purpose of art, and overcoming the obstacles we can all relate to along the way.

The manuscript just came out of developmental edits and my dev editor agreed that it would be helpful to have other eyes on it. I think it needs to be trimmed down a bit and the theme could be polished a bit. I am not married to the title either and am hoping getting some more eyes on it will help bring me clarity.

I am looking for someone that can be a critique partner to make the process feel like team work and less isolating.

I will be in need of copy/line edits after this phase and if someone can perform both services, I'd be interested also, but if it's 2 different people thats ok too.
thank you in advance

Jay

message 2: by Novel (new)

Novel Idea | 20 comments Hi Jay,

I'd love to be of help. Part of my beta reading process involves being a sounding board of sorts for my writers.

My "day job" is classical music, so I imagine I'm in your artistic type demographic.