Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

The Key and the Crescent (Darkdrifters, #1)
This topic is about The Key and the Crescent
Book Issues > Author name change / cover change

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

M.J. Newman (feonix) | 13 comments Hi!

I'm the author of this book and I was hoping I could make some changes now that I'm a Goodreads Author, but apparently I still need librarian status in order to change things. There are two things I wanted to change.

1) My name isn't Matthew Newman anymore, I've started going by MJ Newman, so I would love it if my author name could be updated to MJ instead of Matthew. I don't have any past books published under Matthew and this book's very first print run is actually under MJ, so it should be simple enough to just swap the first name, right?

2) Accordingly, the cover of this book has been updated with the name change, so I'd like the cover to be swapped too. You can find the new cover here: https://i.imgur.com/e0d9JEg.jpg

Thank you!

M.J. Newman (feonix) | 13 comments Could somebody please help with this?

Thank you!

message 3: by Mantvydas (last edited Oct 07, 2020 08:48PM) (new)

Mantvydas | 1093 comments First, you can't change the author, but you can update other fields with books assigned to your profile.

As for your name, librarians can't change profiles of Goodreads Authors. You need to contact the staff about this. Link here: https://www.goodreads.com/about/conta...

M.J. Newman (feonix) | 13 comments I'm confused. When I try to change my name, I get this message:

"Sorry, only users with librarian status can edit book and author data. If you would like librarian status, then please apply here."

So librarians *can't* change this?

Can a librarian at least alter the book cover and I'll contact staff about the name change?

message 5: by Suzi (new)