The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

The Night Manager
This topic is about The Night Manager
Group Read Discussions > October Group Read (Spoiler Comments) - The Night Manager by John le Carré

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bill (new)

Bill This is your thread for spoiler comments for The Night Manager by John le Carré

message 2: by Renee (new)

Renee (elenarenee) | 182 comments Hi all welcome to the discussion. I know most are familiar with LeCarre char George Smiley. I am hopping to meet someone as interesting in this book

LeCarre is the perfect person to write espionage novels. He worked for MI5 in the 50's and 60's His career came to an end when Kim Philby betrayed agents cover to the KGB. He admits that one of his chars is based on Philby.

I am just getting started in my reading. I am enjoying the description of the hotel. I love the way even minor chars have personality.

Has anyone here read LeCarre? What are your initial feelings?

He has 5 books adapted into movies.

message 3: by Mike (new)

Mike (tigermike) | 94 comments John LeCarre is the preimment spy writer dating back to the 60s and his understated Smiley character. Not so much action focused but psychological in a very British way. Most of his better and favourite books are made into films and are very good. My favourite is the Constant Gardner although its a mute point really. I admire LeCarre's adaptation to the changing nuisance of modern spy reality. A constant read of his novels multiple times is enjoyable habit for me.

message 4: by Renee (new)

Renee (elenarenee) | 182 comments I loved the Constant Gardner. I think the movie was a real good adaptation of the book. I think some of his books don't translate well to the screen.

message 5: by Renee (new)

Renee (elenarenee) | 182 comments Well I am enjoying the book. I would love to discuss it. I would enjoy it so much more with others.