Support for Indie Authors discussion

Cover Workshop > BOOK COVER DESIGN IMAGES - Help!

Comments Showing 1-35 of 35 (35 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gail (new)

Gail Meath (goodreadscomgail_meath) | 237 comments Okay, I admit it. I have been designing my own book covers and I am NOT a graphic artist. A local pro quoted $2,300 for 1 book cover; I had a few more quotes for $700-1000/each. I have six books with more to come and not anywhere near the funds! So, I subscribed to Shutterstock and Photoshop (love Photoshop) and have designed my own.

But a reader recently suggested I need better covers and should work with a graphic artist and another author suggested Fiverr as a less expensive route...I contacted someone and am waiting to hear back from them.

My issue - I write historical romance (wish I wrote fantasy/vampire books, lots of those on Shutterstock). After hours/days of searching on Shutterstock, there isn't one good historical romantic couple image that I see on so many other author's cover. Not half-naked men, they aren't that type of romances, but just romantic images of swashbuckler, cowboy, 1800s era couples.

Sorry, I'm just at a loss here. I really loved designing my own yet agree, they do not look professional. And it stinks because my dad passed away 25 years ago and he WAS a graphic artist! I suck.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks so much.

message 2: by E.D. (new)

E.D. Robson | 11 comments Gail, although I am budget limited I now tend to go with pre-made covers from one particular company which I find quite reasonably priced with a large range of covers to pick from. I will message their details to you if you wish.

message 3: by Jeffrey (new)

Jeffrey Caston | 109 comments Hi Gail, I have a few ideas I can message you about too if you like.

message 4: by Barbara (new)