Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Beta reader available for YA/NA/Adult fantasy/horror

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kree (new)

Kree | 4 comments Hello all! I've had the itch to do some beta reading, and I have some free time now that my own novel is away with my beta :) I'm a professional proofreader with an MA in creative writing, so I'd love to help out where I can. I'm happy to go over your manuscript for character, plot, and style, as well as point out any egregious grammatical errors I may encounter (not a line edit, but I certainly don't mind fixing and explaining things where I see them). Be prepared to take constructive criticism, please! I prefer projects 120k words and under (just so I can give it my full focus). PM me here if interested! I can probably take one or two.

message 2: by Ali (new)

Ali Benice | 130 comments Hello Kree,
Thank you for the kind offer.
I have two MSs that require beta reading. The query letters I've written regarding them are down below, all the information you'll need is in them. I hope one of them piques your interest. 

1. A Weekend Trip from the Afterlife

I’m seeking representation for my 49,400 word, pessimistic in a healthy dose, dark humour upper MG magical realism novel, A WEEKEND TRIP FROM THE AFTERLIFE.
In the year 2080, 14-year-old underachiever Joe finds a semi-translucent, sepia-coloured man in his room and panics. He assumes the stranger to be the holographic operating system he’s purchased, but his mother Lina figures out the man’s true nature; the spirit of Joe’s great-great-great-something-grandfather who died in the 1880s. The ghost wishes to see the world and know everything that happened after his passing.