Beta Reader Group discussion

Covers, Blurbs, 1st Line, Query > BLURB help please

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Julie (new)

Julie Guay-de la ronde | 59 comments Can someone please give me advice for my blurb? Thanks!

Clara enjoys editing manuscripts and is already a pro at social distancing out on her hobby farm when it's announced everyone is in quarantine due to a virus. The real problem arrives in the form of the Devil, also known as Tristan Black, the author she avoids at all costs. As she sends him packing, a new regulation is announced forcing him to stay with her for two weeks. In the middle of nowhere. Together. For the next two weeks sexual tension increases while both keep secrets from the past hidden.

message 2: by Kenny (new)

Kenny (kenny_valentine) | 61 comments Hey Julie,

I'm no expert on blurbs, and someone else might offer better advice than me, but I'll tell you my honest thoughts as I read this.

The first time, I was quite confused, I didn't really understand what this is about. Is it a romance? Is it contemporary? Is the story about the quarantine and social distancing or about the relationship between Clara and Tristan?

The second time I read it, I noticed that the first sentence feels a bit disconnected from the second one. Almost like they're for two different stories. What does social distancing and quarantine have to do with Tristan Black arriving? Why does Tristan Black show up at her place? Why does she call him "the devil?" And if he's the "real"problem, then what is the fake one? Quarantine? The virus? But Clara is already a pro at social distancing, so why would she be bothered at all or consider it a problem?

"In the middle of nowhere" makes me think that neither characters know where they are, but that's false because we are given the location in the first sentence. It is her farm. Unless there was a change in location?