Swarthmore Summer Book Groups discussion

General > Introduce yourself!

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Swarthmore (new)

Swarthmore Libraries (swatlibrary) | 5 comments Mod
Introduce yourself to other folks in the summer book group!
- Who are you & what's your connection to Swarthmore? (Name, pronouns, class year if applicable)
- What kind of books do you like to read?
- Anything you'd like to recommend?

message 2: by Christina (new)

Christina | 3 comments Hi! I'm an associate professor in the Integrative Biology department at U South Florida in Tampa. I graduated from Swarthmore College in 1995. I like historical fiction typically, but lately have gotten into science fiction with my daughter (8 years old) who is obsessed with space and wants to be an astronaut and go to Mars. One of my favorite series that we found after Harry Potter and His Dark Materials was George's Secret Key 5 book series written by Stephen and Lucy Hawking. We started reading the first just after the image of the black hole from Katie Bouman's team was released last year and it is amazing!

message 3: by Han (new)

Han (han_chen) | 1 comments Hello! I'm Han (she/her/hers), a rising junior at Swarthmore College (class of '22) studying biochemistry and medical anthropology. I grew up in the Philly area and absolutely love reading science fiction and historical fiction; however, recently I've read a string of memoirs all of which were amazing reads: Becoming (Michelle Obama), When Breath Becomes Air (Paul Kalanithi), and Educated (Tara Westover).

message 4: by Christina (new)

Christina | 3 comments Han wrote: "Hello! I'm Han (she/her/hers), a rising junior at Swarthmore College (class of '22) studying biochemistry and medical anthropology. I grew up in the Philly area and absolutely love reading science ..."

Cool! I have Becoming on my shelf to read as soon as possible.