AMERICAN HISTORICAL NOVELS discussion

The Process of Fraying
This topic is about The Process of Fraying
Interview with the Author

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Jess Woods | 109 comments Mod
To start, can you please tell us a little about yourself and your novel?

Certainly! I’m not incredibly interesting, so I will stick to the basics. I’m an avid reader, and I’m lucky enough to have a job that encourages me to continue to read widely (though I’d do it even if I didn’t have the excuse). I’m an English teacher for an online middle and high school consortium. Though I’ve always loved writing, I’ve only recently decided to take it more seriously and pursue publication. The Process of Fraying is my debut novel. I’ve also got poetry and essays published in a few literary magazines. All of my writing gives special attention to nature imagery as nature is one of my absolute favorite things. Beyond that, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, watching cooking competition shows, playing strategic games and card games, hiking, and being outdoors (particularly near an ocean).

The Process of Fraying is set in the late 1930s-early 1940s; it is a family drama that details the experiences of a woman struggling not only with depression but also with the stigmas surrounding mental illness.