The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

TASK HELP: Summer Challenge 2020 > 30.8 - Aprilleigh's Task: The Karate Fan Club

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by SRC Moderator (last edited May 28, 2020 05:10AM) (new)

SRC Moderator | 4543 comments Mod
30.8 - Aprilleigh’s Task: The Karate Fan Club

I’m hyper focused on karate right now, despite not being a karate student myself. My son studies Kenpo Karate and will be testing for his black belt at the end of June. He’s living and breathing karate every day until his belt test for an intensive six-week review, which means so am I.

This is complicated by the dojo being closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, so all his classes and review sessions have to be completed at home using Zoom and other internet applications. It’s a lot of work, but we’re trying to have fun with it, too.

This is a two-book task, and the combined page count must be at least 500 pages.

Although my son is still technically a kid, he is an advanced, or upper level, karate student. Therefore, MPG Childrens or Kids is permitted only if the Interest Level (IL) is either UG (US) or UY (UK). REQUIRED: Include the ARBF Interest Level in your post.

Book 1: A FICTION book with all of the letters in both KARATE and DOJO found in the title (ignore subtitles) and/or author’s name. You may NOT use books with either word found intact in the title. A book with two authors is acceptable, but only one author’s name may be used (your choice).

Examples:
The Cat Who Could Read Backwards by Lilian Jackson Braun (many books from this series will work)
At the Edge of Summer by Jessica Brockmole
Hollow Kingdom by Kira Jane Buxton
A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole