Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Available to read: YA/NA, contemporary, fiction, romance, urban fantasy

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carli (new)

Carli (bookswithcarli) | 5 comments Hi, I have no experience in beta reading other than being an avid reader and an ever expanding library. I’ve been surrounded by books my whole life (now 27) and would be really interested in knowing the process of book making mostly so that I can one day write one myself.
I don’t really read high fantasy, or horror (just getting started n both). And usually get kind of disappointed with mystery/thrillers. Other than that, I read mostly anything.
English is not my first language, although I consider myself bilingual (been studying since I was 5) and read mostly in this language.
As the rest of the world right now, I have a lot of time due to quarantine even with an essential job and college. Always trying to have more projects and stay active.

message 2: by Ali (new)

Ali Benice | 114 comments Hi Carli,
Here's the query letter I plan to send agents. Hope it picks your interest!

I’m seeking representation for my 50,200 word, pessimistic in a healthy dose, dark humour upper MG magical realism novel, A WEEKEND TRIP FROM THE AFTERLIFE. Given your interest in quirkiness and unique problems, I thought it might be a good fit for you.
In the year 2080, 14-year-old underachiever Joe finds a semi-translucent, sepia-coloured man in his room and panics. He assumes the stranger to be the holographic operating system he’s purchased, but his mother Lina figures out the man’s true nature; the spirit of Joe’s great-great-great-something-grandfather who died in the 1880s. The ghost wishes to see the world and know everything that happened after his passing.