SFF Hot from Printers: New Releases discussion

Nominations > Nominations for July 2020

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Oleksandr (new)

Oleksandr Zholud | 1625 comments Mod
Are there any suggestion from the members about possible themes for the upcoming nominations?

For example, I think a fresh translations onto English can be of interest, for example see The Best Translated Books Awards nominees, where there are two SFF titles https://themillions.com/2020/05/best-...

message 2: by Kateblue (new)

Kateblue | 689 comments Mod
Well, I have no idea. I just read The Scar recently translated I believe. It was kind of like an expanded folk fable/fairy tale kinda. But I have no other knowledge. Why don't you pick a few?

message 3: by Antti (new)

Antti Värtö (andekn) | 258 comments Mod
I've been meaning to read The Memory Police, so I'm nominating that.

I will also recommend They Will Drown in Their Mothers' Tears, translated last year, which won the Augustpriset (the most prestigious literary award in Sweden) back in 2017.

Another worthy book is Tender is the Flesh, which seems to has been released as a Kindle edition back in February but the hardback/paperback editions show August publication date - a delay probably caused by the COVID-19.

message 4: by Gabi (new)

Gabi | 424 comments "Tender is the flesh" is on my TBR, I would like to get to this one.

message 5: by Kaa (new)

Kaa I like the translation theme, and I can think of a lot of options. Some that I'm interested in reading:

Vita Nostra is another recent translation from the authors of The Scar.

Vagabonds, by Hao Jingfang, had a translation by Ken Liu recently released.

A Hero Born is a Chinese classic that was recently released in I think its first English translation.

message 6: by Gabi (new)

Gabi | 424 comments "Vagabonds" would have been one of my next audiobooks. I'll postpone it and wait for the outcome of the poll.