Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > Problems having an author with the same name

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michael (last edited May 18, 2020 10:46AM) (new)

Michael Ward | 6 comments How can I get rid of an erroneously created second Goodreads page for my book 'Rags of Time' which has been attributed to another author with the same name as me? He's receiving my reviews!

My name is Michael Ward and I am a Goodreads author. There is another Michael Ward and a number of reviews and reader notifications for my debut novel Rags of Time have been posted on a second book page attributed to him.

I had a similar problem when I first joined Goodreads but a lady sorted it out and, I think, left a note on my account explaining how she remedied the problem.

Please could someone look into this? The 'real' Michael Ward who is the author of Rags of Time is the ageing gent with a beard, not a healthy-looking guy from Glasgow! Many thanks

message 2: by Scott (new)

Scott | 17227 comments I have moved it to your profile.

Please remove reference to the other librarian from your post; naming names is not allowed (even if it's positive.)

message 3: by Michael (new)

Michael Ward | 6 comments Thanks for sorting this out so quickly Scott. Have edited my first post as you requested.

message 4: by Michael (new)

Michael Ward | 6 comments Scott wrote: "I have moved it to your profile.

Please remove reference to the other librarian from your post; naming names is not allowed (even if it's positive.)"

Hi Scott,

Back on May 18th, you kindly sorted a problem for me. A second page for my book 'Rags of Time' suddenly appeared, with the book and reviews being attributed to another author with the same name, Michael Ward.

You managed to close this page and attribute the reviews to my profile.