Beta Reader Group discussion

Authors Seeking FREE Betas > Connecting with Beta Readers

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by robert cann (new)

robert cann | 5 comments Hi all
I have just joined this group. I am a first time writer and almost completed my first manuscript.
I am looking for Beta readers whether free or paid.
I would be grateful for any suggestions, advice or guidance on how to proceed.
Much appreciated

booksnooksandglory Hi, I’m a paid beta reader. If you ever need my services (I do reports and in-line edits, whatever the author chooses) or advice of any kind you can PM me. Or email me at norawatikinsbray@gmail.com for more in-depth information or detailed advice. I would love to help you understand the prices or guide you to blogs that answer your doubts.

message 3: by robert cann (new)

robert cann | 5 comments Thanks Nora. Do you beta religious genres?

message 4: by Tito (new)

Tito Athano (bobspringett) | 144 comments robert cann wrote: "Hi all
I have just joined this group. I am a first time writer and almost completed my first manuscript.
I am looking for Beta readers whether free or paid.
I would be grateful for any suggestion..."

Hi Robert,

Welcome aboard!

I have used a professional Beta and she was very helpful. I have used several non-paid betas and they vary considerably, from superficial to being almost partners in the writing process and very creative with their suggestions.

My suggestion is to follow a three-step process.

1. Get the work up to a reasonable standard first, perhaps using friends who would probably be gentler with you in the early stages before you expose yourself to a more serious critique.