Beta Reader Group discussion

Authors Seeking FREE Betas > writer of a historical fiction

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jane (new)

Jane Lore (janelore) | 3 comments Hello everyone! I'm pretty new at this whole discussion thing and to goodreads as well, but as I am a writer working on her first novel, I though it best to come here where I know there are many avid readers who could help me better my work. The book I'm working on currently is a historical fiction bordering between tragedy and light romance, set in 17th century, Italy. Currently it is roughly 133,000 words, but as I am halfway done with my 3rd edit, more words will be cut down to hopefully being below 120,000.
📖
If interested, feel free to go to my website/author portfolio → nomadicmoonbooks.com
where you can find a small synopsis of the story.

message 2: by Iva (new)

Iva Polansky (ivap) | 4 comments I do write HF myself so I thought I would give it a try. From what I read of the synopsis, it seems to me that your MS can be cut in half just by deleting all unnecessary words.

Example:

"sold to the demons of fleshly pleasures in a brothel, entering a world of sinister twists and turns, whilst maudlin with love's tireless assuage of impossibility"

My version:
...sold to a brothel, entering a world of sinister twists and turns.

The rest I don't dare to touch because although I know the meaning of each word individually, put together in this way, they don't make sense. Going over a 133K written in that manner is not something I would attempt.

I recommend you to download the ProWritingAid software that will take you to the end of the story sentence by sentence. After the surgery, your MS will be down to perhaps 90K and readable.

message 3: by Jane (new)