Book Cover Reviews discussion

Cover Reviews > Please review my cover

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Eric (new)

Eric Fisher | 6 comments Hi hope it is Ok to do it this way. I am troubleshooting my book and sometimes what I think is good is not what others think is good. Your insights would be greatly appreciated. I've put a link to my cover and back page on my website. Thanks.
https://the-little-black-book-of-euro...

message 2: by Paul (new)

Paul | 76 comments Eric –

Sorry to be blunt, but this cover isn't really doing anything for me. At least nothing good.

To start, I'm pretty sure you have some trademark and copyright violations in the pictures you're using. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm positive you can't use celebrity pictures for endorsements without permission. And on a cover, it is certainly considered an endorsement.

That aside, you have some real typographic problems here. Lack of hierarchy on the cover with line spacing problems; and poor text density and an obvious runt and on the back.

Handwriting is tricky to use well. As it is, that cover font conveys a real amateurish sense. One dead giveaway is identical repeated characters—a good handwriting font mixes things up a bit. I get that you are trying to keep things casual, and it might work for chapters or headers if there are some alternates characters you can access, but for a cover… you might be better off hand lettering it yourself (or hire a letterer), if handwriting is really what you want.

But handwriting doesn't really instill your reader with a sense of confidence. It is too casual, typically. And if I understand your premise here, you want this book to act as an authority, a reference, something that a reader for trust turning to. Sorry, but handwriting isn't any of that.