Espionage Aficionados discussion

Movies/TV > Book -to -TV & film adaptations

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by James (new)

James | 1 comments Does anyone think that novels that are adapted into Tv shows or movies should remain strictly within the same characters, sets and plots as the author's original format? I thank that this is the best way to go in order to encourage the original fans of the book to cross over to the shows or movies that are created around the literary pieces that they love.

message 2: by Feliks, Moderator (new)

Feliks (dzerzhinsky) | 680 comments Mod
As a writer myself (one of several in this little group) I would say that sometimes it just doesn't work out that way. Theatrically-formatted narrative has its own set of rules it must follow and they are much stricter than printed prose.

When a reader encounters a 'lull' in a novel they can set it down and come back to it later. They probably won't just toss it in the rubbish, on the spot.

But if you allow a slowdown in a televised story, there's a serious risk of losing the audience entirely and not getting them back.

There's been many good and many bad examples on each side. Sure, screenwriters would like to stay faithful but there's instances when it just can't be done. In such cases, I'm sure the producers can only shrug and remind us that we are still welcome to return to the book (if we love it so much) and give it a re-read.

Unfortunately --in a capitalist society-- their mission is ratings and ad-revenue: not the satisfaction of purists.

message 3: by Stacey B (new)

Stacey B | 27 comments James wrote: "Does anyone think that novels that are adapted into Tv shows or movies should remain strictly within the same characters, sets and plots as the author's original format? I thank that this is the be..."