Historical Mystery Lovers discussion

2020 Wheel of Historical Mystery > Barbara's Wheel of Mystery

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments I have never tried this before but it seems like a great way to find new historical mysteries to read.

Wedge # 1: Bonus!
Book chosen: Some Danger Involved by Will Thomas

message 2: by Lauren (new)

Lauren (laurenjberman) | 1664 comments Mod
Welcome to the challenge Barbara!

message 3: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments Thanks, Lauren!

message 4: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments Wedge # 1: Bonus
Book chosen: Some Danger Involved by Will Thomas
Date finished reading: January 17, 2020

This Victorian-era mystery takes place in London. The author does a lovely job of portraying London at the time, including plenty of detail. The main characters are well drawn and the mystery itself was excellent. The identify of the murderer was a total surprise--although looking back, I realized the author had dropped some substantial clues. All in all a good read.

message 5: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments Wedge # 2: Historical Mysteries 2016
Book chosen: Murder Most Malicious by Alyssa Maxwell

message 6: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments Wedge # 2: Historical Mysteries 2016
Book chosen: Murder Most Malicious by Alyssa Maxwell
Date finished reading: January 20, 2020

A very entertaining mystery. I picked who I wanted to be the murderer and got it wrong, but I was in the ballpark re the motive. I liked the two main characters -- Lady Phoebe and her maid, Eva -- who make a great team. Lots of good stuff about the changes in society following WWI.

message 7: by Barbara (last edited Feb 02, 2020 06:44PM) (new)

Barbara Monajem | 80 comments Wedge # 3 Mysteries with Literary Authors
Book chosen: The Tale of Hilltop Farm by Susan Wittig Albert
Date finished: 1/28/20