The F-word discussion

The Handmaid's Tale (The Handmaid's Tale, #1)
This topic is about The Handmaid's Tale
GROUP READS > November FICTION selection THE HANDMAID'S TALE

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Alexa (AlexaNC) This month's fiction selection is Margaret Atwood's masterpiece, The Handmaid's Tale. There is so much to discuss about this!

Alexa (AlexaNC) When I first read this it absolutely wowed me. I remember picking it up in an airport, knowing absolutely nothing about it. That was an amazingly lucky impulse purchase!

message 3: by El (new) - rated it 5 stars

El | 756 comments Mod
I've read this books a few times (the first was required reading at my college when I was a freshman), most recently just a couple months ago for my real-life book club. The discussion there, unfortunately, wasn't very satisfying because we had one guy there who pooh-poohed absolutely anything anyone said. He hated the book so much, which I think says a lot about him.

So I hope to see what others think of the book. Like Alexa said, there's a lot to be discussed! I don't want to rush anyone though. :)

Alexa (AlexaNC) It would be hard to discuss this kind of speculative fiction with someone who just wasn't interested in any of the implications. How disappointing that must have been! And stifling too.

I find a chilling reality to this, and am even more chilled by the fact that the impact for me hasn't lessened at all in the years since I first read it.

message 5: by William (new)

William Galaini (williamgalaini) | 15 comments I read this in college, and it blew me away. In some ways it inspired my second novel Withered Zion in that it was a theocracy.

Not only is it thoughtful and poignant, but it is so lushly written. I will always be jealous of Atwood's ability.