Brandon Sanderson Community discussion

Questions > Science Fiction Books

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joel (new)

Joel | 67 comments I need some recommendations for science fiction/space opera books. I am new to reading scifi, and the few that I have read have not been what I was expecting. So far the books I have read have been more about asking philosophical questions and trying to make the reader think rather than space battles, killing evil aliens, and the like. Which is more of what I am looking for. Just some fun and exciting stories with great characters. Recommendations please.

message 2: by Clay (new)

Clay Enlow | 4 comments The Lost Fleet: Dauntless by Jack Campbell would probably be good for you

message 3: by John Gregory (new)

John Gregory Wynn | 33 comments The Legacy of HeorotOne of my favorites. Older but good

message 4: by Mike (new)

Mike | 23 comments I started the Dune series recently and I am loving it ( I am on the third book). It is very thought provoking and suspensful. Full of political intrigue and I feel that if it is not a direct influence on Brandon Sanderson, I sense a lot of his style and format in the Dune novels.

Another thought provoking novel was "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep" I did not enjoy it much it did make me think.

The Foundation series is another one that fits what you are looking for.

I have been reading a lot of the classic Sci Fi but I would be interested in everyone's opinions on newer stuff.

message 5: by Taylor (new)

Taylor | 8 comments If you haven't read Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card, I would definitely recommend it.

message 6: by [deleted user] (new)

I would second "Ender's Game" its great but if you are looking for guy shoots aliens, aliens kill people and not a lot of plot i have to confess the Alien and Predator novels have always been a secret pleasure of mine...