Fringe Fiction discussion

Id Personified

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jason (new)

Jason Richards (Jason_Richards) Hello everyone, my name is Jason and I'd like to recommend my own book 'Id Personified'. I wrote this story while I was thinking about themes that were coming up over and over again at my job with my clients. I work as a mental health therapist and at the time of writing this story I had a number of clients who had issues of trauma, drug use and aging which had led to fears of purposelessness and death and ultimately existential crises.

When I try to understand these themes and find ways to best approach them in therapy I tend to write out in a journal. The writing is designed to help me organize my thoughts. But this time was a bit different. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I suppose I was inspired at the time and ended up writing an outline for a story that focused on these themes. A month later, I had written the short story and, seeing as how it was finished and all, decided to self-publish it on Amazon to see what would happen.

It was a ton of fun to do and would love feedback as I would like to do it again. I've already planned out another story. But I would like to know how I can improve and need an audience to do this and, unfortunately, I've only had a few friends I've been brave enough to tell I've written a story (as I'm still not sure if the story is any good as, again, I'm brand new to this) read it and offer feedback.