Coffee & Books discussion

Discussion Archives > November 2014: The Glass Castle

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel Jorquera , Moderator (new)

Rachel Jorquera  (racheljorquera) | 2955 comments Mod
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

message 2: by Kristie (new)

Kristie I just finished this. (I got an early start!) I thought it was a great memoir. I'm so glad I finally got around to reading it and I can't wait to discuss it with everyone.

For starters, I have to say that it was interesting to see her parents' point of view on some things. I work in the mental health field and that perspective was fascinating to me. I won't say anything about specifics until people have had a chance to read it.

message 3: by Rachel Jorquera , Moderator (new)

Rachel Jorquera  (racheljorquera) | 2955 comments Mod
SO beautifully written. It gives me the chills when I think about this book. I have read it a few times, and I am going to re-read it for the sake of reliving Walls life.

message 4: by Shinjini (new)

Shinjini (shinjini14) I am about 20% in and I love the narration. I don't usually read Non-fiction so I was a little nervous about this one. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the book reads just like a Fiction book. The narration is lucid and very easy to follow.

Also, I have to say the parents' point of view on some topics is really interesting. I would agree to some points that I have come across but I still think the execution of those plans wasn't done well enough.

All in all, it's a nice experience reading this one.

message 5: by Ashley (last edited Nov 04, 2014 11:32AM) (new)