Archive - Award Winners > Beautiful Creatures: The Manga - November 2014

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lynn, Moderator (new) - rated it 3 stars

Lynn | 4070 comments Mod
Graphic Novels & Comics Winner

Beautiful Creatures The Manga by Kami Garcia

Book Summary
In crisp black and white manga pictures, Ethan Wate narrates his dreams, haunted an unreachable raven-haired beauty. When she moves into the small Southern town Blackwood mansion of her protective Uncle Macon, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her. As her 16th birthday nears, Lena must choose - or will the family curse choose for her?

There were no surprises in Gatlin County .. the middle of nowhere.
I couldn't have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

message 2: by Lynn, Moderator (last edited Oct 31, 2014 12:04PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Lynn | 4070 comments Mod
So I was a newbie to this genre never having read anything like this before. What about the rest of you?

If you've read this genre before, was this a good example? Was it a worthy winner?

This is an adaptation of Beautiful Creatures. Had you read the book before this?

If so, do you think it added to the experience of the story?

message 3: by ally ¯\(ツ)/¯ (last edited Oct 31, 2014 01:19PM) (new)

ally  ¯\(ツ)/¯ (allykennedy) | 1002 comments I haven't read Beautiful Creatures. I'm going to give it a shot. I love Graphic Novels but I have to admit I doubt I'll concur that it should have won after reading Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan . I'm also not really a fan of Black & White in a world full of colour.
Time will tell...

message 4: by Lynn, Moderator (new) - rated it 3 stars

Lynn | 4070 comments Mod