Yoga Folks discussion

General discussions about yoga > Home Practice - what is your practice like?

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nikiverse (new)

Nikiverse I have a really hard time doing yoga on my own (and I'm an instructor!).

Home practice people ... how long and what do you do? Do you follow a vid or make up your own thing?

message 2: by Iris (new)

Iris Occasionally I use video for my home practice but I really prefer audio only. 20 minute podcasts from yogadownload.com are my bread-and-butter. My home practice started after my studio sponsored a retreat weekend in 2011 and I've rarely missed a day since then. First thing every morning. If I can manage an extra session later in the day or evening, it's a bonus.

message 3: by Bernie (new)

Bernie Gourley (bgourley) | 3 comments Usually 1 hour-ish. I usually follow a balanced Hatha outline (standing asana, standing balances, arm balances, forward bends, back bends, twists, and inversions.) I often finish with pranayama (kapalbhati and nadi shoudhana.)I pick the specific asana as I go, and often add Power elements. (No video. I don't like any more noise or sound when I practice than I have to be exposed to.)

Occasionally, I will do the Ashtanga Vinyasa Preliminary Series to make sure I don't become completely rusty with it.

message 4: by Saba (new)

Saba | 2 comments I don't do videos either, although there are quite a few on youtube that are good for some inspiration. I bought Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes last year and add/delete asanas based on mood and how my body feels. My practice is usually 1hr but on my bad days I only go through Sun Salutation A+B for 15min. Ashtanga yoga is also something I dabble in ^_^

message 5: by Nikiverse (new)