The Slow Regard of Silent Things (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2.5) The Slow Regard of Silent Things discussion

Mental Illness as a beautiful thing .

Comments Showing 1-50 of 52 (52 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

Gandalfgrijs I agree half with you. Mental illness is no beautiful thing, day 3 and 4 probably maked that clear. I think Auri would have been happier if she didn't have a mental illness.
However, I think this book shows very well that if you have a mental illness, your life isn't over, isn't worthless, isn't always dark. You can even find strenghts and ways to go on within it.
But well, hapilly, I'm no expert.

message 2: by [deleted user] (last edited Oct 31, 2014 05:30PM) (new)

Tolkien, Lucas, and JK Rowling never had to tell people that they had to be especially broken or "special snowflake" people to like their stories/books. It's baffling he's categorizing his fans like this as if to create a sense of insecurity in us about honestly critiquing the shortcomings of the story. It's like there's an attempt being made at creating a demographic of fan he feels comfortable with reading his book. The Demographic is epic fantasy and he well knows it.

It is my belief that an epic fantasy Author who apologizes for his work knows deep down inside there is a voice called his conscience he is not listening to ......That voice or instinct is the part of himself that once had a taste for what he was doing. The part of him that knew he was making a huge mistake releasing this book.

Don't get me wrong........a very good attempt at making a silk purse out of a sow's ear was made here, but no matter how poetic, it's still a sow's ear.

Even with the apology and excuses I would diplomatically suggest.....