The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Greetings

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Peter (new)

Peter (teacherman) | 7 comments I'm not a newbie, but I've been working for fifty years and, last January, I had to retire because, despite my students' belief that I had no heart, my heart is full and, regrettably, clogged. So now I am retired, reading so much more, and looking to participate as a group member and, if there's interest, as a friend.

I was a criminal trial lawyer for 25 years, tried over 250 homicides and tons of guns and drugs, then taught middle and high school English for the past ten years. Now I care for about 100 rescue dogs, part time.

message 2: by Skye (new)

Skye | 2105 comments Welcome, Peter;
100 rescue dogs? that's amazing~

message 3: by Peter (new)

Peter (teacherman) | 7 comments If you've read Suspect, you know that their love, and my love for them, keep me strong.

message 4: by Skye (new)

Skye | 2105 comments I love dogs and I have a little one.

message 5: by Peter (new)

Peter (teacherman) | 7 comments Size isn't important. Heart is.

message 6: by Prakash (new)

Prakash Khanchandani | 52 comments Peter, I didn't get the connection! Between Suspect and dogs.

message 7: by Peter (new)

Peter (teacherman) | 7 comments Having just searched the title, I now know that there are several books titled"Suspect." The one I refer to is by Robert Crais, snf its protagonists are a policeman and a K-9 dog who are both recovering from sever, separate line-of-duty injuries. Crais is the only writer I know of who understands and portrays the dog/human "pack," and does so without condescension, romantic nonsense or anthropomorphism. If you respect and love dogs, they--like my erstwhile students, will almost always respond with love and respect. The connection is, for me, as profound and formative as real friendship.