Prehistoric Fiction Writers and Readers Campfire discussion

Good Places to Research

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Daniell | 14 comments I found myself doing a lot of research before I started writing, and I know you all did too. The novella I'm writing has to do with Neanderthals. I found a lot of great info. at this blog, and there is a lot of information there on paleoanthropology, genetics, and evolution in general. I've seen other sites mentioned here, and I hope I'm not repeating something. What are other good places to research?

message 2: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Daniell | 14 comments Sorry, I didn't put in where to go. www.johnhawks.net. I also posted this on Facebook.

message 3: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen | 72 comments Great source! Thanks

message 4: by Kiyya (last edited Nov 08, 2014 03:35PM) (new)

Kiyya | 19 comments I studied quite a bit of palaeoanthropology at university, so that makes it a bit easier to write stories set in this era, but there is a lot of information out there. Wikipedia's articles on neanderthals are not too bad (just bear in mind that it's wikipedia and some bits might be a bit out of date). It's important to look for when the information was published, i.e. in the last 10 years or so.

Erik Trinkaus is a researcher into neanderthals who springs to mind, I'm not sure if he has a blog though.

I did a couple of online courses on human evolution at EdX and Coursera as well. I don't know if these are still running or are re running but they're well worth looking into, both were run by university professors, one of them by John Hawks.

The New Scientist is a good magazine that has quite a few articles on human evolution and neanderthals.

message 5: by Kiyya (new)