The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Historical mysteries fan

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cécile (new)

Cécile Chabot (CecileChabot) | 9 comments First time, I'm posting on this group, though I was looking at some threads.

I'm a big fan of historical mysteries (or those which have become historical mysteries, because of the time lapse since being written).

Cadfael is certainly one of my favourite detectives (with Hercule Poirot, but in this I may be a little biased as I'm Belgian too).

Agatha Christie, Robert van Gulik, Ellis Peters, Peter Tremayne, Anne Perry... but also little known French-speaking authors from the XIXth century (I'm French-speaking).

I'm also a big fan of Tony Hillerman.

And, yes, I'm an author too.

Cécile

message 2: by Skye (new)

Skye | 2105 comments Thanks for the info.

message 3: by Michael (new)

Michael Weitz | 28 comments Cecile, Welcome!
You might like the Maisie Dobbs mysteries by Jacqueline Winspear. The first takes place just before and during WW1 and the rest follow. They are set mostly in England but some include forays into France and other parts of Europe.

message 4: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

Nancy Oakes (quinnsmom) | 9152 comments Mod
Welcome to our group! I am a huge Van Gulik fan - I binge read the entire series some time ago. You're going to like it here.

message 5: by Britney (new)

Britney (tarheels) | 125 comments Welcome. I am a historical mystery fan as well. I love going back in time and picturing the beautiful scenery.

message 6: by Cécile (new)

Cécile Chabot (CecileChabot) | 9 comments Michael wrote: "Cecile, Welcome!
You might like the Maisie Dobbs mysteries by Jacqueline Winspear. The first takes place just before and during WW1 and the rest follow. They are set mostly in England but some inc..."

Hi Michael,
Thank you for the idea: I haven't read anything in that series... yet ;)